Artur Santos was born in Oporto in 1941. He is Trustee of Fundación Bancaria Caixa d’Estalvis i Pensions de Barcelona “la Caixa” since May 2017.

    He has a Law degree from the University of Coimbra (1963) and an honorary doctorate from the University of Oporto (2010) and from the Universidade Nova de Lisboa (2017).

    He is Chairman of the General Board of University of Oporto since October 2017.

    Founder of the BPI Group, he was the Executive Chairman of the SPI (1981-1984) and Executive Chairman of Banco BPI (1985-2004). From 2004 to 2017, he was Chairman of the Bank’s Board of Directors, currently he is Honorary Chairman.

    He is Chairman of the Consultative Council of the Foundations of Portugal "Conselho Consultivo das Fundações" since 2018.

    He was also Director (2002-2012) and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation (2012-2017) and non-executive Director of Jerónimo Martins, SGPS, SA (2004-2013).

    He chaired Portugal's National Committee for Commemoration of the Centenary of the Republic (2008-2011), the General Council of the University of Coimbra (2009-2012) and the Council of Founders of the "Casa da Música" (2006-2012).

    He was Deputy Governor of the Banco de Portugal (1977-1978), State Secretary of the Treasury (1975-1976) and Senior Manager of Banco Português do Atlântico (1968-1975).

    In Portugal he was awarded the Grand Cross of the Military Order of St. James of the Sword "Ordem Militar de Sant'Iago da Espada" in 2017, the Grand Cross of the Order of Liberty "Ordem da Liberdade" in 2011, the Grand Cross of the Order of Prince Henry "Ordem do Infante" in 2004 and the Order of Civil Merit "Ordem do Mérito Civil" in 1991. Also in 1991, he received the Gold Medal of Honour from Oporto City Council "Medalha de Honra: Grau Ouro".

    In France he was made a Knight of the Legion of Honour "Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur" in 2008 and received the National Order of Merit "Ordre Nationale du Mérit" in 1996.

    In Spain he received the Order of Civil Merit "Orden del Mérito Civil" in 1998.


    Last updated: May 2020